In defense of snobbery

I used to have pretty emphatic opinions about which media was high quality and which wasn’t, and rarely hesitated to make them known. I’ve since renounced not only voicing such opinions, but having them in the first place, and have cultivated acute embarrassment over a past me who would do my friends the kindness of informing them that that movie they liked was terrible. (Though it was meant as “good-natured ribbing”, many social groups read this behavior as “dickish”, and the line between those two is often fine enough to be invisible.)

In tandem I’ve developed an envy of those pure souls whose love for things was never poisoned by a critic’s disapproval or a particularly cutting internet comment, either because it was proof of the earnestness that I as a Cynical Worldly Adult lacked, or because it meant they were too busy caring about things that actually mattered to get caught up in squabbles over what was essentially fashion.

Occasionally I revisit things from the height of my snobbery period, expecting to be disappointed, but instead I’m almost always shocked by how good it still is. The mindset I had when I developed those tastes wasn’t exactly admirable–it often felt competitive and even mildly paranoid–but it did the job of pushing me away from lower effort pop art and toward things that I believe were genuinely richer and more complex. In itself I’m not sure how virtuous that is, but these were the things I had in my life before I had access to medication or satisfying relationships or autonomy, and in addition to being useful for directly modulating my emotional states, they gave me something to connect to when everyone I knew was a replicant.

Snobbery gets a bad rap because it seems to exist for the sole purpose of weaponizing taste, and I’m not sure what proportion of snobs actually are in that game, but there’s some idealized version of snobbery that’s mostly about incentivizing people to like things that are better for them and spend less time on junk. Unfortunately, it’s hard not to cause offense if implemented at the individual level, and I’m generally down on directly insulting your friends. If only there were some sort of institution that everyone in your social sphere went through in their formative years which exposed them to important culture…

 

Leave a Reply

